Skip to main content

Capital Region Foundation Announces Scholarship Recipients

Foundation news | Thursday, May 19, 2022

Contact: Alaina Winship

Capital Region Medical Center’s Medical Foundation is pleased to announce the 2022 scholarship recipients. Winners were selected based upon grade point average, college entrance exam scores, difficulty of classes completed and the student’s involvement in and contribution to school, church and community activities.

Two students received the Dr. Leon A. and Marian B. Taylor Endowed Scholarship, Thomas Thompson from Jefferson City High School and Livia Bloomer from Helias High School. Both Thompson and Bloomer plan to become physicians.

Recipients of the Walter and Nancy Rottmann Scholarship include Abigail Blake of Jefferson City High School who plans to pursue social work, as well as Caleb Mueller from Helias High School and Madilyn Rissmiller from Blair Oaks High School. Mueller and Rissmiller plan to become physicians.

The Dr. Jack and Jimmy Kay Sanders Scholarship recipient is Samantha Laughlin from Blair Oaks High School. She plans to become a pharmacist.

The Greg Stockard, Jr., Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Macy Adrian of Eugene High School who looks forward to becoming a nurse.

The Helene Kemper Jackson Scholarship winner is Samuel Herbert from Mt. Vernon High School, who has plans to become a physician.

Scholarships are awarded to seniors graduating from area high schools who will be seeking a degree in a medically-related field.